CoSFAG honors Professor Rita Akosua Dickson

Commonwealth Scholars and Fellows Alumni, Ghana (CoSFAG) have acknowledged one of their own, Professor (Mrs.) Rita Akosua Dickson, who is the Vice Chancellor of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST).

A delegation from CoSFAG on the 29th September 2020 paid a courtesy call on the Vice Chancellor and, during a short ceremony held in Kumasi, presented her a citation and a CoSFAG branded T-shirt on behalf of the association as an honour for being the first female Vice-Chancellor of the University. Prof. Dickson thanked the association for the honour, and on behalf of University Management promised to continue to give off her best and impact lives.

Prof. Dickson is both a Commonwealth Scholar & Fellow, and is presently acting as a Patron to the association. She received a Commonwealth Scholarship award in 2003 to undertake her doctoral studies at Kings’ College, University of London, and a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship in 2011 at the Department of Pharmaceutical and Biological Chemistry, School of Pharmacy, University of London, as a visiting scientist researching into bioactive natural products as well as Novartis Fellow in collaboration with Seeding Labs in the United States.

The former President of CoSFAG, Dr. Jacob K. Agbenorhevi, who was present at the ceremony pointed out that the appointment of Prof. Dickson is a historic one as she is the first female to ascend the highest position in the institution. He, therefore, on behalf of the association congratulated her and wished her success during her tenure.

The current National President of CoSFAG, Dr. John Boulard Forkuor informed the Vice-Chancellor that the association would organize workshops and engage the 2020/21 Teaching Assistants on the Commonwealth Scholarship programmes with its related opportunities.

The delegation present at the ceremony were Professor Aboagye Menyeh (Patron), Professor (Mrs.) Frances Owusu-Daako (Patron), Professor (Mrs.) Sylvana Rudith King (Patron), Dr. Albert Arhin (General Secretary), Mr. Augustus Sobeng (Executive Member), Dr. (Mrs.) Antoinette Simpah Anim-Jnr (Kumasi Branch President), Mr. Abdul-Aziz Iddrisu (Member) and Ms. Felicia Amankwah.


Give us a call or fill in the form below and we'll contact you. We endeavor to answer all inquiries as soon as possible.